Online Learning 2016-10-24T14:41:29+00:00

Online Learning

The NJC offers a variety of web-based courses and programs.

Web Courses

The NJC’s Web-based courses allow participants to study at any time and interact with many judges from around the country in a collegial online atmosphere. Expert faculty members will challenge participants with self-tests, assignments, and reading that can be completed anywhere a judge has access to an Internet-ready computer. Each course will meet for at least two prescheduled Web conferences hosted by the faculty.

» Learn More

Webcasts

All of our webcasts are free with registration.

» Learn More

Upcoming Webcasts

Mindfulness: Improving Judicial Focus and Retention

Nov 30, 2017 | 12:00 p.m. PT / 1:00 p.m. MT / 2:00 p.m. CT / 3:00 p.m. ET (75 mins.) | Online Webcast | Tuition: Free

Mindfulness is the practice of cultivating non-judgmental awareness in the present moment. It is a practice of learning to pay attention to our thoughts, emotions, and physical sensations and acknowledging whatever is present and using that information to respond to the unfolding of our work and lives. Judges, especially, have to be mindful in practicing their craft. During this webcast, we will explore the most current research on mindfulness, including the neuroscience underlying mindfulness and the effects of mindfulness on work-related skills and behaviors. Specifically, participants will learn how mindfulness can help cope with trauma, and enhance leadership and communication.

(more…)