Webcasts

All of our webcasts are free unless otherwise noted. If you miss a webcast, don’t worry. Past topics are archived here.

NHTSA Webcast: Tracking the Last Place of Drink

May 21, 2015 | 10am PT/11am MT/12pm CT/1pm ET | 60 min. | Free

» Register Now

The ability to identify where a DWI offender consumed his or her last alcoholic drink can provide vital information which can help the offender on the road to recovery, and can also provide information to detract future potential DWI offenders from committing an infraction. More than 62% of “last drinks” can be traced to a specific bar. By educating members of the public, including bar owners, liquor store owners, distributors, local law enforcement, and community leaders, a plan can be developed, in conjunction with each entity, to curtail the number of alcohol-related DWI infractions that occur. During this webcast Judge James Dehn will discuss a model “Tracking the Last Place of Drink: ‘Safe Cab’ Program,” a program developed in conjunction with members of his community, to create a cost-sharing cab ride plan which significantly reduced DWI offenses in his county.

Negotiation Problem Solving: Getting to Yes

May 28, 2015 | 10am PT/11am MT/12pm CT/1pm ET | 60 min. | Free

» Register Now

In light of ever increasing court dockets and limited time, judges are being asked to use alternative methods of dispute resolution to avoid trials. This webcast will provide you with deeper insight into the parties’ pre-trial negotiation process. The webcast will help you identify how the parties’ negotiations get “stuck” and how alternative dispute resolution can help them get to “yes” by moving away from the traditional framework of positional bargaining and moving towards the new framework of interest-based negotiations.

The webcast objectives will be:

  1. Describe the advantages of interest-based negotiations.
  2. Identify the disadvantages of interest-based negotiations.
  3. Recognize the relationship between problem-solving and interest-based negotiating.
  4. Identify when interest-based bargaining is likely to be used.
  5. Describe the effective characteristics of effective negotiating practices, strategies, and tactics.