Elders and Capacity: What Judges Need to Know

Thursday, March 17, 2016 10 a.m. PT / 11 a.m. MT / 12 p.m. CT / 1 p.m. ET (75 mins.) | Web
Cost FREE | View Recording

According to the U.S. Census Bureau’s projections, the older adult population will double between 2010 and 2030. As the population of America ages, courts will necessarily see an increase in the types of cases that they process that involve older populations — guardianships, conservatorships, elder abuse protection petitions, and matters pertaining to estates. This webcast will help you describe capacity issues of elders in civil, criminal, and probate court, and offer tips for assessing capacity and for what purposes.

View Recording

Objectives

During this webcast, you will learn to:

  • Identify what a capacity issue is.
  • Assess when capacity should be addressed.

Instructor

Using interactive teaching methods to make the subject come alive, this webcast’s faculty is Brenda K. Uekert, Ph.D., who is a Principal Court Research Consultant at the National Center for State Courts.

2016-10-24T14:42:43+00:00