NHTSA Webcast: Proven Sentencing Strategies for the Multiple DWI Offender

Thursday, March 10, 2016 10 a.m. PT / 11 a.m. MT / 12 p.m. CT / 1 p.m. ET (60 mins.) | Web
Cost FREE | View the recording

When hearing traffic cases, judges are often tasked with sentencing many DUI defendants for the second or third time. To curb the incidence of multiple offenders, judges should aim to find alternative sentences that will be more effective than the “standard sentences.” Based on current research studies, and existing programs that have proven effective, this webcast will provide the trial judge with practical and effective sentencing alternatives for the multiple DUI offender. The webcast will provide examples of alternative sentences which can be practical for the metropolitan court, as well as the rural court.
View Recording

Objectives

During this webcast, you will learn to:

  • Become familiar with current research concerning treatment and sentencing for multiple DUI offenders.
  • Evaluate the practical effectiveness of different sentencing alternatives.
  • Determine what sentencing alternatives will work best in his or her court.

Instructor

Using interactive teaching methods to make the subject come alive, this webcast is being presented by the Honorable Scott J. Bergstedt with the Municipal Court in Colfax, Washington.

2016-10-24T14:42:44+00:00