2015 WEBCASTS

Web Self Study

     

If you miss a webcast, don’t worry. Go to the Recorded Webcasts page and view the recorded webcast.

 


 

 

State Specific Commercial Driver's Licensing Webcasts
Click here for more information
Tuition: FREE

In 2014, the NJC offered state specific Commercial Driver's Licensing webcasts for all 50 states. For more information and to view the recording of each webcast, click here.

 

 

Contempt and Judicial Ethics

February 23, 2015 12 p.m. Pacific / 1 p.m. Mountain / 2 p.m. Central / 3 p.m. Eastern (1 hour 15 minutes)
Tuition: FREE

 

MORE INFORMATION | REGISTER FOR WEBCAST

American courtrooms face an ever-increasing level of uncivil and disruptive behavior on the part of litigants, attorneys, and members of the public. How should judges respond to trial disruptions? Judges relying on the inherent power of the courts through the use of civil and criminal contempt face ethical pitfalls, costly court delays, and possible sanctions when contempt powers are improperly exercised.

 

 

A New Model for Civil Case Management — Intrinsic Engagement

February 24, 2015 12 p.m. Pacific / 1 p.m. Mountain / 2 p.m. Central / 3 p.m. Eastern (1 hour 15 minutes)
Tuition: FREE

 

MORE INFORMATION | REGISTER FOR WEBCAST

Tired of litigating the litigation? Learn how one judge used the principles of procedural justice and behavioral science to eliminate the distractions, focus on the substance, and cut his civil docket by 58% through interactive case management. This webcast will help you rediscover why you became a judge in the first place.

 

 

Fortifying Your Mental Health Court in an Ever-Changing Environment

February 25, 2015 12 p.m. Pacific / 1 p.m. Mountain / 2 p.m. Central / 3 p.m. Eastern (1 hour 15 minutes)
Tuition: FREE

 

MORE INFORMATION | REGISTER FOR WEBCAST

Mental Health Courts (MHCs) can encounter attacks or setbacks from many sides. An exploitive political figure can suggest your MHC is “soft on crime” especially after a participating offender has committed an offense while in the program. Drugs that were once out of reach to most drug users such as heroin can suddenly overwhelm your community and your MHC. You may find your screening assessments are too cumbersome or slow to detect those who should be in the program. Your team suffers from burnout, and you seem to be losing your best people. To top it off, funding for your MHC is about to be eliminated. This webcast will provide some solutions to these dilemmas, among others.

 

 

NHTSA Webcast: The Computerized Assessment and Referral Systems (CARS) — Identifying Mental Health Disorders among DUI Offenders

April 16, 2015 10 a.m. Pacific / 11 a.m. Mountain / 12 p.m. Central / 1 p.m. Eastern (60 minutes)
Tuition: FREE

 

REGISTER FOR WEBCAST

Repeat DUI offenders often suffer from a number of psychiatric disorders and other psychosocial risks, which suggests that untreated mental health and behavioral issues may be contributing to the persisting high rate of DUI. However, treatment for DUI offenders most commonly consists of alcohol education and substance use treatment only, without addressing the possible underlying mental health and behavioral issues that may be present as well.

 

 

NHTSA Webcast: Tracking the Last Place of Drink

May 21, 2015 10 a.m. Pacific / 11 a.m. Mountain / 12 p.m. Central / 1 p.m. Eastern (60 minutes)
Tuition: FREE

 

REGISTER FOR WEBCAST

The ability to identify where a DWI offender consumed his or her last alcoholic drink can provide vital information which can help the offender on the road to recovery, and can also provide information to detract future potential DWI offenders from committing an infraction. More than 62% of “last drinks” can be traced to a specific bar. By educating members of the public, including bar owners, liquor store owners, distributors, local law enforcement, and community leaders, a plan can be developed, in conjunction with each entity, to curtail the number of alcohol-related DWI infractions that occur. During this webcast Judge James Dehn will discuss a model "Tracking the Last Place of Drink: 'Safe Cab' Program," which is a program that was developed in conjunction with members of his community, to develop a cost-sharing cab ride plan which significantly reduced DWI offenses in his county.

 

 

Judicial College Building/MS 358 | Reno, NV 89557 | (800) 25-JUDGE | www.judges.org
All content © 2013 The National Judicial College - All Rights Reserved. Privacy Policy.
The National Judicial College is an Equal Opportunity/Affirmative Action, ADA organization, and admits participants of any age, race, color, gender, sexual orientation, national or ethnic origin.