2019 Courses2018-08-17T10:37:15+00:00

2019 Course Calendar

Monday, Jan 28, 2019
to Friday, Mar 15, 2019

Online: Self-paced
You are often called on to make instantaneous decisions on the admissibility of evidence from the bench. Do you have a f...

Monday, Feb 18, 2019
to Friday, Apr 5, 2019

Online: Self-paced
Are you making evidentiary rulings with confidence? This faculty-led online course will develop the skills needed to ru...

Monday, Feb 18, 2019
to Friday, Apr 5, 2019

Online: Self-paced
This course is designed to provide you with a practical framework for ruling on evidence. You will be introduced to the ...

Monday, Mar 18, 2019
to Thursday, Mar 21, 2019

Las Vegas, NV
Are your judicial documents clear, coherent and unambiguous? This course applies advanced composition principles to judicial ...

Wednesday, Mar 20, 2019
to Wednesday, Mar 20, 2019

What does electronic evidence or electronically stored information (ESI) encompass? What needs to be considered in terms of discovery and ad...

Wednesday, Mar 20, 2019
to Friday, Mar 22, 2019

Las Vegas, NV
Electronically stored information (ESI) raises new evidentiary questions for the judge, in addition to presenting twists on e...

Monday, Apr 1, 2019
to Thursday, Apr 11, 2019

Reno, NV
Jumpstart your judicial career! This course supplements state-sponsored judicial education by providing a solid foundation in the ...

Monday, Apr 1, 2019
to Thursday, Apr 4, 2019

Scottsdale, AZ
Domestic violence cases are some of the most emotionally challenging cases that judges handle. After this course, judges wil...

Monday, Apr 1, 2019
to Thursday, Apr 4, 2019

Scottsdale, AZ
This four-day course is highly interactive and designed to give tribal judges more confidence in handling all aspects of tri...

Monday, Apr 8, 2019
to Friday, May 24, 2019

Online: Self-paced
Small claims cases can be among the most stressful and frustrating that a judge is called on to handle in a court of lim...

Wednesday, Apr 10, 2019
to Friday, Apr 12, 2019

Savannah, GA
Every day, when you take the bench, you have the opportunity to ensure that litigants leave your courtroom with greater respec...

Wednesday, Apr 10, 2019
to Saturday, Apr 13, 2019

Sustainable Water Rights in Drought

The Stanford Law School will host the next Dividing the Water conference, on April 10-13, 2019. Conf...

Thursday, Apr 11, 2019
to Thursday, Apr 18, 2019

The Civility Center for Law (CCL) and The National Judicial College are presenting this special seminar.

Judges are role models for all t...

Monday, May 6, 2019
to Friday, May 10, 2019

Reno, NV
Mediation is an important option in every system of justice. Judges with mediation skills can have opportunities open up to them b...

Monday, May 20, 2019
to Thursday, May 23, 2019

Reno, NV
This course provides you with an overview of sentencing practices and evidence-based options for impaired driving traffic offenses...

Monday, May 20, 2019
to Tuesday, May 21, 2019

Denver, CO
Designed for mediators who have successfully completed a 40-hour mediation training program, this highly interactive, fast-paced...

Monday, May 20, 2019
to Thursday, May 23, 2019

Sante Fe, NM
With opiate addiction at epidemic levels in both urban and rural America, the NJC has crafted a new course that focuses on the...

Monday, May 20, 2019
to Thursday, May 23, 2019

Denver, CO
Death is different. You feel it the moment you enter a courtroom when a capital case is beginning. Even if you have experience h...

Monday, Jun 3, 2019
to Thursday, Jun 6, 2019

Reno, NV
This advanced-level, four-day course for experienced administrative law judges, adjudicators, and hearing officers gives an in-dep...

Monday, Jun 3, 2019
to Thursday, Jun 13, 2019

Reno, NV
Are you a judge without formal law school training? This course will offer a comprehensive overview regarding the basics of your j...

Monday, Jun 10, 2019
to Friday, Jul 26, 2019

Online Self-Paced
As a judge, you have the responsibility of upholding the Model Code of Judicial Conduct. Are you? During this course, you...

Monday, Jun 24, 2019
to Thursday, Jun 27, 2019

Napa, CA
This four-day program is an opportunity to pause from the many complexities of being a judge and find some space to breathe and re...

Monday, Jun 24, 2019
to Thursday, Jun 27, 2019

Bar Harbor, ME
This course is a must for judges who want to improve their evidentiary rulings. The expert faculty will review recent cases ...

Monday, Jul 29, 2019
to Friday, Aug 30, 2019

Online: Self-paced
The purpose of this online course is to provide education for judges who have been recently elected or appointed. The co...

Monday, Aug 5, 2019
to Thursday, Aug 8, 2019

San Diego, California
When is a search or seizure justified? Who has standing to challenge? When is a warrant needed? If the amendment is v...

Monday, Aug 12, 2019
to Thursday, Aug 22, 2019

Reno, NV
This intensive two-week course provides newer state and federal administrative law adjudicators with a solid foundation in the too...

Monday, Aug 12, 2019
to Thursday, Aug 15, 2019

Reno, NV
Judges are often asked to lead projects that will improve the justice system. Learning about project management, leadership, human...

Friday, Aug 23, 2019
to Monday, Aug 26, 2019

Anchorage, Alaska
In the last decade, self-representation has increased exponentially. Self-represented litigants now appear on court docke...

Monday, Aug 26, 2019
to Thursday, Aug 29, 2019

Seneca, New York
The efficient administration of modern tribal justice systems requires a team of competent court personnel with the knowle...

Monday, Aug 26, 2019
to Thursday, Aug 29, 2019

Big Sky, Montana
This is a highly interactive course in which judges from different jurisdictions and backgrounds can openly and vigorously...

Monday, Sep 9, 2019
to Thursday, Aug 22, 2019

Online: Self-paced
Isolation, under-funding, lack of collateral social services in the community, and a high public profile. Do these thing...

Monday, Sep 16, 2019
to Friday, Nov 1, 2019

Online: Self-paced
Are you making evidentiary rulings with confidence? This faculty-led online course will develop the skills needed to ru...

Monday, Sep 23, 2019
to Friday, Sep 27, 2019

Nowadays, lifelong learning is essential to maintain skill and knowledge in one’s chosen profession. During this program, judges will enga...

Monday, Sep 23, 2019
to Friday, Nov 8, 2019

Online: Self-Paced
Rule with confidence, knowing your decisions are ethically appropriate. This faculty-led online course uses hypothetica...

Monday, Sep 23, 2019
to Thursday, Sep 26, 2019

Anchorage, Alaska
This course assists tribal court judges in developing the basic skills necessary to preside over criminal and civil matte...

Monday, Oct 7, 2019
to Thursday, Oct 17, 2019

Reno, NV
Jumpstart your judicial career! This course supplements state-sponsored judicial education by providing a solid foundation in the ...

Monday, Oct 7, 2019
to Thursday, Oct 10, 2019

Reno, NV
Are your judicial documents clear, coherent and unambiguous? This course applies advanced composition principles to judicial writi...

Monday, Oct 14, 2019
to Thursday, Oct 17, 2019

[fusion_text]
Are your educational programs interesting, thought-provoking, fun, and enriching? The vast majority of people teaching in pro...

Monday, Oct 21, 2019
to Thursday, Oct 24, 2019

Reno, NV
This course provides tribal court judges and court administrators with a more in-depth examination of the business of managing a c...

Monday, Oct 21, 2019
to Thursday, Oct 24, 2019

Reno, NV
As a judge, you have the responsibility of maintaining the integrity of the court process. Are you? This course will help particip...

Monday, Oct 28, 2019
to Thursday, Oct 31, 2019

Charleston, South Carolina
Do you need a fresh look at your role on the bench? From civility to contempt, this course will help you develop...

Monday, Oct 28, 2019
to Thursday, Oct 31, 2019

Reno, NV
The arena of traffic-related offenses is constantly evolving. Statistically, driving while under the influence of drugs as well as...

Monday, Nov 4, 2019
to Friday, Dec 6, 2019

Online: Self-paced
The purpose of this online course is to provide education for judges who have been recently elected or appointed. The co...

Monday, Nov 4, 2019
to Friday, Nov 8, 2019

Reno, NV
Mediation is an important option in every system of justice. Judges with mediation skills can have opportunities open up to them b...

Monday, Dec 9, 2019
to Thursday, Dec 12, 2019

Santa Fe, New Mexico
This course familiarizes you with the factors that affect the judicial decision-making process and assists you in the ...