2016-2017 Faculty Awards & Milestones

*through March 2017

2016 Payant Award

Hon. Karen M. Arnold-Burger

2016 Staff Excellence Award

Lonnie Shodeen

40 Year Award

Prof. Elizabeth A. Francis (NV)

30 Year Award

Hon. Allan A. Toubman (ME)

25 Year Award

Hon. Michael E. Keasler (TX)
Hon. Peggy Fulton Hora (CA)

20 Year Award

John M. Lacey, Ph.D. (CA)
Mr. William J. Brunson (NV)
Hon. Louis B. Butler Jr. (WI)
Prof. Stephen M. Simon (MN)

15 Year Award

Hon. Seven A. Wise (MT)
Hon. William G. Kelly (MI)
Hon. Jamey H. Hueston (MD)
Hon. Reba A. Page (VA)
Cindy Van Schooten, Ph.D. (CA)
Prof. Kelly E. Tait (NV)
Hon. Earl G. Penrod (IN)
Hon. Steve Smith (TX)

10 Year Award

Hon. Louis H. Schiff (FL)
Ms. Christine P. Folsom (WA)
Hon. Daniel J. Crothers (ND)
Hon. Ilona M. Holmes (FL)
Ms. Kimberly Papillon (CA)

5 Year Award

Hon. William W. Brash III (WI)
Ms. Patricia A. Etzold (NY)
Hon. Kenneth O. Simon (AL)
Kevin Knight, Ph.D. (TX)
Prof. Joshua D. Lee (NY)
Mr. Kevin J. Bowling (MI)
Hon. Melissa Jones (NY)
Hon. Kristi L. Harrington (SC)
Hon. John J. Molaison Jr. (LA)
Hon. Sherrill Ellsworth (WA)

Faculty Forum

News about and by NJC faculty members.

Read More

NJC News
Washington DC Supreme Court facade equal justice under the law
Almost all judges believe Supreme Court justices should be subject to an ethics code

It’s safe to say that judges think their brethren and sistren on the U.S. Supreme Court should be bound b...

Remembering Lee Sinclair

Photo courtesy of The Repository Lee Sinclair recalled that as a child he loved to visit the Stark Count...

Remembering Dean Larry Hyde

Judge Laurance M. “Larry” Hyde, the dean who established The National Judicial College on the campu...

Interior of cell block in abandoned State Correctional Institution, or jail., common room with jail cells.
Poll suggests that judges know what life is like in their jails and prisons

Judges who send people to jail or prison usually have at least some idea of the conditions in the facilitie...

Judicial Heroes and Legends: May 2022 - Hon. Constance Baker Motley

When Ketanji Brown Jackson was nominated to become the first Black woman justice of the U.S. Supreme Co...

View All News

Download a PDF of our complete 2022 course catalog