Communicating Effectively: Conducting the Virtual Hearing

Tuition

199

This webinar is presented at no cost to judges. The fee will be fully funded by an NJC scholarship.

0

Register

Days & Times

7:00 a.m. Hawaii / 9:00 a.m. Alaska / 10:00 a.m. Pacific / 11:00 a.m. Mountain / 12:00 p.m. Central / 1:00 p.m. Eastern
Duration: 75 minutes

Course Location

Online

Course Fees

Tuition

$199

This webinar is presented at no cost to judges. The fee will be fully funded by an NJC scholarship.

$0

Online

October 23, 2020

The judicial branch and the administrative judiciary have worked for years to ensure that judges communicate effectively during hearings and trials. With the advent of COVID-19, judges must confront new barriers to effective communication, the online, virtual hearing. Whether conducted in WebEx, Zoom, GoToMeeting, or some other online conferencing platform, judges need to learn how to effectively communicate in the virtual court. Using a series of role plays and videos, a team of communication experts and judges will demonstrate best practices for effective online communication in today’s virtual court.

Tuition

Course $199

This webinar is presented at no cost to judges. The fee will be fully funded by an NJC scholarship. $0

What will I learn?

During this course, you will learn to:

  • Deliver the same quality of hearing virtually as you would deliver in-person;
  • Apply effective communication techniques to the virtual hearing;
  • Create a strong agenda for virtual hearings;
  • Set the stage for virtual hearings including tone and staging;
  • Use appropriate language to ensure access;
  • Recognize barriers to communication and listening; and
  • Control the parties in a virtual hearing.

With faculty Professor Jill Tolles, plain language expert Melanie Sampson, Judges Audrey Wade, Katy Straub, Leslie Ann Taylor, and Anthony Rizzo

Register Now.

The judicial branch and the administrative judiciary have worked for years to ensure that judges communicate effectively during hearings and trials. With the advent of COVID-19, judges must confront new barriers to effective communication, the online, virtual hearing. Whether conducted in WebEx, Zoom, GoToMeeting, or some other online conferencing platform, judges need to learn how to effectively communicate in the virtual court. Using a series of role plays and videos, a team of communication experts and judges will demonstrate best practices for effective online communication in today’s virtual court.

Register
More Courses
Effective Treatment for Substance Related Disorder

Elder Abuse and Undue Influence - What Judges Need to Know

View All Course Programs

Download a PDF of our complete 2022 course catalog

Download