Board of Trustees

The College’s 21-member Board of Trustees sets policy, fosters a climate of excellence, promotes the development of innovative judicial education programs, and provides leadership in achieving the NJC’s mission. Trustees are dedicated individuals from diverse fields encompassing the law and the judiciary as well as business and corporate areas.

Download roster

Chair, Hon. Christopher T. Whitten

Chair Elect, Alan R. Brayton, Esq.

Treasurer, Hon. Leslie A. Hayashi (Ret.)

Secretary, Ann Thornton Field, Esq.

Immediate Past Chair, Peter Bennett, Esq.

Hon. Mary-Margaret Anderson (Ret.)

Norma Barnes-Euresti, Esq.

Hon. Stephen K. Benjamin

Hon. Margarita B. Bernal (Ret.)

Edward R. Blumberg, Esq.

Pamela A. Bresnahan, Esq.

Douglas A. Cannon, Esq.

Hon. Toni E. Clarke (Ret.)

A. Clifford Edwards, Esq.

Kim Dean Hogrefe, Esq.

Robert Hunter, Esq.

Robert L. Parks, Esq.

Darcee S. Siegel, Esq.

Angelina Tsu, Esq.

Sandra S. Yamate, Esq.
NJC News
Village near the Oljato–Monument Valley in Arizona.  Ranch house. Aerial view, from above, drone shooting
This Land is Our Land? Two changes Native people would appreciate

Some years ago I was teaching an Indian Law Sovereignty class for the National Indian Justice Center in Las…

protest international activist movement protesting against racism and fighting for justice - Demonstrators from different cultures and race protest on street for equal rights
Conversations on Racial Justice

Please consider a donation to our Fund for Racial Justice. Thank you. Judging the Judiciary on Race …

Reflections from the Bench: Raging waters, recounts and sturdy banks of law

Alexis de Tocqueville (1805-1859) was a Frenchman who studied American society during a nine-month tour in …

United States Supreme Court Building in Washington DC, USA.
The majority of judges polled oppose lifetime appointments

Our November Question of the Month asked NJC alumni if they think any judges should be appointed for life. …

Remembering Judge Peggy Fulton Hora

The College lost one of its finest teachers and the judiciary lost one of the original apostles of th…

View All News