Consumer Credit in the World of COVID-19

This webinar is presented free of charge.

0

Register

Days & Times

10 a.m. Hawaii / 11 a.m. Alaska / 12 p.m. Pacific / 1 p.m. Mountain / 2 p.m. Central / 3 p.m. Eastern
Duration: 75 minutes

Course Location

Online

Course Fees

This webinar is presented free of charge.

$0

Online

December 16, 2020

NJC is offering a new participatory continuing judicial education session on the effects of Covid-19 on Consumer Credit issues.

The course will examine whether Covid-19 by itself creates a defense for debtors to assert in consumer credit litigation, the applicability of force majeure to these contracts, and a discussion of some typical situations the courts will encounter when the pandemic ends.

Tuition

This webinar is presented free of charge. $0

What will I learn?

During this course, you will learn to:

  • To examine existing legal concepts to determine if the Covid-19 pandemic creates a valid legal defense to a debtor’s obligation to make payments due under the terms of a consumer credit contract.
  • To review a court’s role in enforcing arbitration awards made pursuant to the credit card agreement.
  • To analyze some particular consumer credit transactions to determine if other defenses exist beyond those arising because of the pandemic.

This webcast may be eligible for Continuing Legal and Judicial Education (CLE/CJE) credits under most state boards/bars/commissions.

Register Now.

The course will examine whether Covid-19 by itself creates a defense for debtors to assert in consumer credit litigation, the applicability of force majeure to these contracts, and a discussion of some typical situations the courts will encounter when the pandemic ends.

Register
More Courses
Effective Treatment for Substance Related Disorder

Elder Abuse and Undue Influence - What Judges Need to Know

View All Course Programs

Download a PDF of our complete 2022 course catalog

Download