Core Skills Tuition Webinar Series: Statistical Evidence for Judges

This webinar is presented at no cost to judges and administrators. The $199.00 fee will be fully funded by an NJC scholarship.

0

Register

Days & Times

8:30 a.m. Hawaii / 10:30 a.m. Alaska / 11:30 a.m. Pacific / 12:30 p.m. Mountain / 1:30 p.m. Central / 2:30 p.m. Eastern
Duration: 75 minutes

Course Location

Online

Course Fees

This webinar is presented at no cost to judges and administrators. The $199.00 fee will be fully funded by an NJC scholarship.

$0

Online

June 8, 2021

What was the time of death of the victim?

Is the defendant the father of the child? Are hiring practices in company X discriminatory? Questions such as these arise frequently in criminal and civil cases and require the admission of statistical evidence. In order to fulfill their gatekeeping role, judges must understand statistical evidence. This webinar will provide a base of knowledge in important statistical topics, and have immediate practical application in the courtroom.

This 75-minute online course is part of a Webinar Series focusing on “Core Skills for Judges” aimed at new state court judges, but may also include administrative law judges, tribal court judges and military judges.

Tuition

This webinar is presented at no cost to judges and administrators. The $199.00 fee will be fully funded by an NJC scholarship. $0

What will I learn?

During this course, you will learn to:

  • Define statistics, populations, and samples;
  • Describe different types of data that may arise in legal proceedings;
  • Explain how approaches to collecting data, and the design of studies can affect the type of inferences that can be drawn.

Faculty: Alicia Carriquiry, Ph.D., Department of Statistics, Iowa State University; Eryn L. Blagg, Graduate Student, Department of Statistics, Iowa State University; and Hon. Samuel A. Thumma, Arizona Court of Appeals, Division One

In partnership with CSAFE.

Register Now.

Is the defendant the father of the child? Are hiring practices in company X discriminatory? Questions such as these arise frequently in criminal and civil cases and require the admission of statistical evidence. In order to fulfill their gatekeeping role, judges must understand statistical evidence. This webinar will provide a base of knowledge in important statistical topics, and have immediate practical application in the courtroom.

This 75-minute online course is part of a Webinar Series focusing on “Core Skills for Judges” aimed at new state court judges, but may also include administrative law judges, tribal court judges and military judges.

Register
More Courses
Effective Treatment for Substance Related Disorder

Elder Abuse and Undue Influence - What Judges Need to Know

View All Course Programs

Download a PDF of our complete 2022 course catalog

Download