Judicial Writing (JS 615)

Tuition

1239

Register

Days & Times

to

Three hours of synchronous instruction each morning
5:30 a.m. Hawaii / 7:30 a.m. Alaska / 8:30 a.m. Pacific / 9:30 a.m. Mountain / 10:30 a.m. Central / 11:30 a.m. Eastern
Please login 30 minutes prior to zone start time

Course Location

Online

Course Fees

Tuition

$1239

Online

August 24, 2020 to August 26, 2020

Are your judicial documents clear, coherent and unambiguous?

Spend three full days applying advanced composition principles to judicial writing at all levels of judicial work. Beginning with questions of aim, audience and style, we will then focus on best practices specific to legal and judicial writing and examine relationships between decision-making and decision-writing. Course includes group instruction and one-on-one sessions with faculty.

This course has moved from an in-person event to online in light of COVID-19 concerns.
• Three hours of synchronous instruction each morning from 9:00am to 12:00pm via Webex
• Participants will complete and submit daily writing assignments each afternoon drawing from the morning instruction
• Participants will continue to submit an opinion before the start of the course to be reviewed with faculty during individual writing conferences each afternoon

3 days

of Instruction

2 credits

towards degree programs

Tuition

Course $1239

Scholarships programs

Scholarship assistance makes NJC courses more affordable for judges.

Scholarships
What will I learn?

During this course, you will learn to:

  • Diagnose and revise difficult and unclear writing.
  • Identify the audience and styles of judicial writing.
  • Master three levels of style necessary to strong judicial work.
  • Define the relationship between writing and decision-making.
  • Master a series of tasks necessary to writing complete, effective, and efficient judicial documents.

Who should attend?

Any judge, judicial officer, law clerk, or court-affiliated staffperson who writes briefs, opinions, findings of fact, conclusions of law, jury instructions, or correspondences can benefit from this course.

Who are the members of the faculty?

This course is team-taught by Judge Karen Hunt (Alaska, retired) and Professor Elizabeth Francis (University of Nevada, Reno). Since 1992, this team has developed the writing of over 1,200 judges in the Judicial Writing course.

How is this course taught?

The course combines lecture presentations and writing exercises. The lectures engage you in exercises of rewording sentences and paragraphs as well as critiquing opinions and other legal documents. The writing exercises culminate with one-on-one consultations between you and a faculty member.

What should I tell my presiding judge or funding agency so that my attendance will be approved?

By improving your writing ability, you will enhance both your productivity and efficiency. You will also be able to share many of the concepts and techniques learned through the course with your colleagues.

Who should I contact for more information?

Please contact our Registrar’s Office with any questions.

Whom should I contact for more information?

(775)224-0502

Email Registrar

This course qualifies for 2 credits toward the Master of Judicial Studies Degree Program and Judicial Studies Doctoral Program at the University of Nevada, Reno upon successful completion of the course and passing the course exam. In addition, this course qualifies for The National Judicial College Certificate in Judicial Development program Administrative Law Adjudication Skills, Appellate Judicial Skills, Dispute Resolution Skills, General Jurisdiction Trial Skills, Special Court Trial Skills and Tribal Judicial Skills disciplines.

Register Now.

Spend three full days applying advanced composition principles to judicial writing at all levels of judicial work. Beginning with questions of aim, audience and style, we will then focus on best practices specific to legal and judicial writing and examine relationships between decision-making and decision-writing. Course includes group instruction and one-on-one sessions with faculty.

This course has moved from an in-person event to online in light of COVID-19 concerns.
• Three hours of synchronous instruction each morning from 9:00am to 12:00pm via Webex
• Participants will complete and submit daily writing assignments each afternoon drawing from the morning instruction
• Participants will continue to submit an opinion before the start of the course to be reviewed with faculty during individual writing conferences each afternoon

Register
More Courses
Electronically Stored Information: An Introduction for Judges

Justice System Reform Ideas from Law School Deans and Jurists to Improve Public Trust and Confidence

View All Course Programs

Download a PDF of our complete 2020 course catalog

Download