Marijuana “Facts and Fiction”

This webinar is presented free of charge.

0

Register

Days & Times

7 a.m. Hawaii / 9 a.m. Alaska / 10 a.m. Pacific / 11 a.m. Mountain / Noon Central / 1 p.m. Eastern

Course Location

Online

Course Fees

This webinar is presented free of charge.

$0

Online

November 16, 2021

Substance Use Disorders (SUD) are on the rise in America and are increasingly appearing in the courtroom no matter the case type. SUD not only impacts the individual suffering from it directly, it can negatively impact those who interact with them. Throughout this sixteen-part webinar series, judges will identify the neuroscience of underlying Substance Use Disorder, explore the science of specific substances that are used and abused including their effects on the brain and signs of impairment, identify skills to be applied in order to be more effective in dealing with SUDs in the courtroom, and explore the Judge’s role in problem solving, advocacy, and building community resources.

Tuition

This webinar is presented free of charge. $0

What will I learn?

During this course, you will learn to:

  • Understand the different types of marijuana producing plants and their general influence on the individual;
  • Identify the similarities and differences between the psychoactive and non-psychoactive constituents in marijuana (CBD vs. THC);
  • Explore how marijuana “hijacks” the brain and body;
  • Examine the differences between brain produced “anandamides” and plant based “marijuana”;
  • Examine how marijuana effects early brain development and gender differences;
  • Understand the truth behind “Cannabis-Induced” psychosis, is it real?
  • Marijuana use and the frequency of misdiagnosed co-occurring disorders
  • Identify a developing condition known as “Cannabis-Induce-Hyperemesis”
Register Now.

Substance Use Disorders (SUD) are on the rise in America and are increasingly appearing in the courtroom no matter the case type. SUD not only impacts the individual suffering from it directly, it can negatively impact those who interact with them. Throughout this sixteen-part webinar series, judges will identify the neuroscience of underlying Substance Use Disorder, explore the science of specific substances that are used and abused including their effects on the brain and signs of impairment, identify skills to be applied in order to be more effective in dealing with SUDs in the courtroom, and explore the Judge’s role in problem solving, advocacy, and building community resources.

Register
More Courses
Effective Treatment for Substance Related Disorder

Elder Abuse and Undue Influence - What Judges Need to Know

View All Course Programs

Download a PDF of our complete 2022 course catalog

Download