Mindfulness for Judges During Trying Times

These webinar series are for judges only and are presented at no cost. The tuition for each webinar will be fully funded by an NJC scholarship.

0

Register

Days & Times

10 a.m. Hawaii  / 11 a.m. Alaska / Noon Pacific / 1 p.m. Mountain / 2 pm. Central  /  3 p.m. Eastern Time
Duration: 90 minutes

 

Course Location

Online

Course Fees

These webinar series are for judges only and are presented at no cost. The tuition for each webinar will be fully funded by an NJC scholarship.

$0

Online

November 15, 2022

The COVID-19 pandemic only exacerbated many issues facing the judiciary, including an ever increasing workload for judges due to unfilled judicial vacancies, insufficient funding for court operations, and tremendous public pressure to decide cases in a fair, efficient, and transparent manner. Judges and court administrators alike encounter challenges in maintaining a healthy balance in responding to these extraordinary circumstances. Promoting mindfulness will cultivate non-judgmental awareness in the present moment paying attention to thoughts, emotions, and physical sensations that can be effective to stress-reduction in trying times. This webcast will explore the most current research on mindfulness, including the neuroscience underlying mindfulness and the effects of mindfulness on work-related skills and behaviors. Participants will learn how mindfulness can help them to cope with stress, enhance leadership and boost creativity, which is crucial for providing effective response to current challenges.

Tuition

These webinar series are for judges only and are presented at no cost. The tuition for each webinar will be fully funded by an NJC scholarship. $0

What will I learn?

During this course, you will learn to:

  • Define “mindfulness”
  • Identify the research that supports mindfulness
  • Describe how they can utilize mindfulness to maintain focus, calm, and objectivity in the midst of the pressures and challenges;
  • Summarize the benefits of mindfulness for both personal and professional life; and
  • Apply mindfulness to assist them in decision making, developing tolerance to uncertainty and in enhancing leadership and creativity in challenging times.

Faculty:
Judge Patricia Blackmon

Register Now.

The COVID-19 pandemic only exacerbated many issues facing the judiciary, including an ever increasing workload for judges due to unfilled judicial vacancies, insufficient funding for court operations, and tremendous public pressure to decide cases in a fair, efficient, and transparent manner. Judges and court administrators alike encounter challenges in maintaining a healthy balance in responding to these extraordinary circumstances. Promoting mindfulness will cultivate non-judgmental awareness in the present moment paying attention to thoughts, emotions, and physical sensations that can be effective to stress-reduction in trying times. This webcast will explore the most current research on mindfulness, including the neuroscience underlying mindfulness and the effects of mindfulness on work-related skills and behaviors. Participants will learn how mindfulness can help them to cope with stress, enhance leadership and boost creativity, which is crucial for providing effective response to current challenges.

Register
More Courses

Download a PDF of our complete 2022 course catalog

Download