Sentencing

These webinar series are for judges only and are presented at no cost. The tuition for each webinar will be fully funded by an NJC scholarship.

0

Register

Days & Times

Noon Pacific, 1 p.m. Mountain, 2 pm. Central, and 3 p.m. Eastern
Duration: 90 minutes

 

Course Location

Online

Course Fees

These webinar series are for judges only and are presented at no cost. The tuition for each webinar will be fully funded by an NJC scholarship.

$0

Online

October 6, 2022

Jurisdictions, courts, and mandates may vary, but most judges will be tasked with sentencing individuals in their careers.

Sentencing is one of the most consequential responsibilities you will face as a judge. This webinar will help participants understand the issues of sentencing and provide them with resources to make informed decisions when deciding a sentence.

Tuition

These webinar series are for judges only and are presented at no cost. The tuition for each webinar will be fully funded by an NJC scholarship. $0

What will I learn?

During this course, you will learn to:

  • Identify sentencing issues;
  • Recognize and avoid possible bias;
  • Avoid sentencing doubts and problems;
  • Identify the role sentencing plays in our overall concept of justice;
  • Balance the aspirational goals of sentencing with pragmatic considerations; and
  • Recognize criminogenic needs
Register Now.

Sentencing is one of the most consequential responsibilities you will face as a judge. This webinar will help participants understand the issues of sentencing and provide them with resources to make informed decisions when deciding a sentence.

Register
More Courses
Ethics, Fairness, and Security in Your Courtroom and Community - ONLINE

Administrative Law: Advanced (JS 649) - ONLINE

View All Course Programs

Download a PDF of our complete 2022 course catalog

Download