Synthetics and Hallucinogens: What Judges Should Know

This webinar is presented free of charge.

0

Register

Days & Times

11 a.m. Hawaii / 12 p.m. Alaska / 1 p.m. Pacific / 2 p.m. Mountain / 3 p.m. Central / 4 p.m. Eastern

Course Location

Online

Course Fees

This webinar is presented free of charge.

$0

Online

January 25, 2022

Synthetic drugs and Hallucinogens are a rapidly changing part of the drug abuse landscape.

This program brings the up-to-date information on synthetics and hallucinogens for judges including the availability of synthetics, the limits of typical drug screens and the risks of serious harm including psychosis. We will also discuss the emerging therapeutic use of hallucinations for psychiatric disorders.

This is the SEVENTH Webinar in a 16-webinar Series. Substance Use Disorders (SUD) are on the rise in America and are increasingly appearing in the courtroom no matter the case type. SUD not only impacts the individual suffering from it directly, it can negatively impact those who interact with them. Throughout this sixteen-part webinar series, judges will identify the neuroscience of underlying Substance Use Disorder, explore the science of specific substances that are used and abused including their effects on the brain and signs of impairment, identify skills to be applied in order to be more effective in dealing with SUDs in the courtroom, and explore the Judge’s role in problem solving, advocacy, and building community resources.

Tuition

This webinar is presented free of charge. $0

What will I learn?

During this course, you will learn to:

  • Describe major classes of synthetic and hallucinogenic substances
  • Identify the challenges in detecting these substances with routine screening tests.
  • Discuss the short and long- term risks of harm from synthetic and hallucinogenic substances
  • Compare the therapeutic and non-therapeutic use of hallucinogens
Register Now.

This program brings the up-to-date information on synthetics and hallucinogens for judges including the availability of synthetics, the limits of typical drug screens and the risks of serious harm including psychosis. We will also discuss the emerging therapeutic use of hallucinations for psychiatric disorders.

This is the SEVENTH Webinar in a 16-webinar Series. Substance Use Disorders (SUD) are on the rise in America and are increasingly appearing in the courtroom no matter the case type. SUD not only impacts the individual suffering from it directly, it can negatively impact those who interact with them. Throughout this sixteen-part webinar series, judges will identify the neuroscience of underlying Substance Use Disorder, explore the science of specific substances that are used and abused including their effects on the brain and signs of impairment, identify skills to be applied in order to be more effective in dealing with SUDs in the courtroom, and explore the Judge’s role in problem solving, advocacy, and building community resources.

Register
More Courses
Effective Treatment for Substance Related Disorder

Elder Abuse and Undue Influence - What Judges Need to Know

View All Course Programs

Download a PDF of our complete 2022 course catalog

Download