Youth Courts: A Model for Effective Discipline and Truancy Intervention

This webinar is presented free of charge.

0

Register

Days & Times

10 a.m. Hawaii / 11 a.m. Alaska / Noon Pacific / 1 p.m. Mountain / 2 p.m. Central / 3 p.m. Eastern
Duration: 60 minutes

Course Location

Online

Course Fees

This webinar is presented free of charge.

$0

Online

November 10, 2021

Youth Courts are a cost-effective investment to reduce crime and improve the life outcomes of our youth.

With a restorative justice and trauma-informed focus, Youth Courts help teen offenders to be accountable for their actions, reflect on their poor choices, identify their personal strengths and commit to repairing damage done, while restoring relations with families, schools, and communities. In this free one hour webinar, Youth Court experts will help participants learn about native models of youth justice, how to adapt these concepts to different jurisdictions, and the California Youth Court approach and benefits. A former youth court participant will share his personal story, and concrete steps and resources to create and improve Youth Courts will be provided.

Tuition

This webinar is presented free of charge. $0

What will I learn?

During this course, you will learn to:

  • Learn about how native communities have invested in youth justice and
  • Explain how youth courts work and why they can be an effective alternative to disrupting the school-to-prison pipeline
  • Learn the core goals and objectives of youth courts and where youth courts can effectively intervene
  • Learn strategies to implement youth courts, including different models of intervention
  • Identify resources to create/improve youth courts in their communities

Faculty:
Judge Charles Ervin
Judge Richard Couzens
Ms. Karen Green Prof. Polly Hyslop
Judge Timothy Connors

Register Now.

With a restorative justice and trauma-informed focus, Youth Courts help teen offenders to be accountable for their actions, reflect on their poor choices, identify their personal strengths and commit to repairing damage done, while restoring relations with families, schools, and communities. In this free one hour webinar, Youth Court experts will help participants learn about native models of youth justice, how to adapt these concepts to different jurisdictions, and the California Youth Court approach and benefits. A former youth court participant will share his personal story, and concrete steps and resources to create and improve Youth Courts will be provided.

Register
More Courses
Effective Treatment for Substance Related Disorder

Elder Abuse and Undue Influence - What Judges Need to Know

View All Course Programs

Download a PDF of our complete 2022 course catalog

Download