Welcome to the Bench – State Supreme Courts Chief Justice Edition, January 2021

Congratulations to the following recently appointed or elected chief justices of state supreme courts.

Brian Boatright, chief justice, Colorado Supreme Court
G. Richard Bevan, chief justice, Idaho Supreme Court
John Weimer, chief justice, Louisiana Supreme Court
Kimberly S. Budd, chief justice, Massachusetts Supreme Judicial Court
James Hardesty, chief justice, Nevada Supreme Court
Gordon MacDonald, chief justice, New Hampshire Supreme Court
Michael E. Vigil, chief justice, New Mexico Supreme Court
Paul Newby, chief justice, North Carolina Supreme Court
Jon Jensen, chief justice, North Dakota Supreme Court
Richard Darby, chief justice, Oklahoma Supreme Court
Steven Jensen, chief justice, South Dakota Supreme Court
Steven González, chief justice, Washington Supreme Court

Know of a new judge (of any kind) we’ve missed? Let us know with an email to njc-communications@judges.org.

NJC News
Judicial Heroes & Legends: June 2021 – Chief Judge Abby Abinanti

Abby Abinanti remembers it as a particularly big fight.   Two men in her Yurok tribe were engag...

Upset woman in casino with falling cards
How to sentence someone with a gambling addiction

A study funded by the National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism found that problem gambling grows ...

Judicial Heroes & Legends: May 2021 – Chief Justice William S. Richardson

2009 Chief Justice William S. Richardson (HI)1919-2010 When William Richardson became chief justice o...

Legal law books concept imagery
In-person or online - you choose

We're taking a hybrid approach to our fall lineup of courses. You can attend online or join us at our headq...

Debate. The science of communication. Rope pulling.
A heated argument over the 'reasonable person'

According to our latest survey, judges disagree over whether the venerable “reasonable person” standard...

View All News

Download a PDF of our complete 2021 course catalog