President Schmucker Receives Merit Award

RENO, Nev. – The National Judicial College (NJC) President Chad C. Schmucker was presented with the Chief Justice Richard W. Holmes Award of Merit, the American Judges Association (AJA) announced Monday, Sept. 26 at its annual conference in Toronto.

The award has been presented annually by the AJA since 1971 to a judge for outstanding contributions to the judiciary. The award is named in honor of one of the AJA’s founding members, who served as Chief Justice of Kansas from 1990-1995.

Judge Schmucker has been NJC president for three years, advancing the College’s mission statement of education – innovation – advancing justice. Judge Schmucker has led the NJC back to pre-recession enrollment numbers and expanded the College’s reach to judges throughout the nation with additional web-based and off-site programs. Judge Schmucker previously served as a Circuit Court Judge in Jackson, Mich., and a Michigan State Court Administrator.

Previous recipients of the Chief Justice Richard W. Holmes Award of Merit includes: Chief Justice Warren Burger, Justice Sandra Day O‘Connor, Chief Judge Judith S. Kaye and former NJC Presidents V. Robert Payant and William Dressel.


The National Judicial College has been the nation’s leading provider of judicial education since 1963, drawing participants from every state and from over 150 countries. The NJC offers more than 100 judicial education programs annually onsite, online, and across the nation in support of its mission: education – innovation – advancing justice. For more information, visit

NJC News
Washington DC Supreme Court facade equal justice under the law
Almost all judges believe Supreme Court justices should be subject to an ethics code

It’s safe to say that judges think their brethren and sistren on the U.S. Supreme Court should be bound b...

Remembering Lee Sinclair

Photo courtesy of The Repository Lee Sinclair recalled that as a child he loved to visit the Stark Count...

Remembering Dean Larry Hyde

Judge Laurance M. “Larry” Hyde, the dean who established The National Judicial College on the campu...

Interior of cell block in abandoned State Correctional Institution, or jail., common room with jail cells.
Poll suggests that judges know what life is like in their jails and prisons

Judges who send people to jail or prison usually have at least some idea of the conditions in the facilitie...

Judicial Heroes and Legends: May 2022 - Hon. Constance Baker Motley

When Ketanji Brown Jackson was nominated to become the first Black woman justice of the U.S. Supreme Co...

View All News

Download a PDF of our complete 2022 course catalog