Welcome to the Bench, Week of September 16th 2019

Congratulations to the following judges who are either new to the bench or have recently been elected, appointed or hired for a new position.

Monica Jo Gomez, County Court, Colorado
Meghan A. Adams, Superior Court, Delaware
Michael W. Arrington, Family Court, Delaware
Jeffery O. Monroe, Superior Court, Georgia
Frank A. Brindisi, District Court, Louisiana
Melissa Saterbak, District Court, Minnesota
Darlene Rivera Spalla, District Court, Minnesota
Rachna Sullivan, District Court, Minnesota
Misty A. Watson, Deputy Probate Commissioner, Missouri
Jennifer McAffrey, District Court, Oklahoma
Cassie McCoy, District Court, Oklahoma
Lisa Otipoby, District Court, Oklahoma
Robert D. Gifford II, Comanche Nation Supreme Court, Oklahoma
Ryland Rivas, Comanche Nation Supreme Court, Oklahoma
Casey Ross, Comanche Nation Supreme Court, Oklahoma
Steffan Alexander, Circuit Court, Oregon
Anna-Kristie M. Marks, Common Pleas Court, Pennsylvania
Teresa D. Jones, Municipal Court, Tennessee
Todd Little, County Court, Texas
Clifford L. Athey, Court of Appeals, Virginia

Know of a new judge (of any kind) we’ve missed? Let us know with an email to njc-communications@judges.org.

NJC News
Washington DC Supreme Court facade equal justice under the law
Almost all judges believe Supreme Court justices should be subject to an ethics code

It’s safe to say that judges think their brethren and sistren on the U.S. Supreme Court should be bound b...

Remembering Lee Sinclair

Photo courtesy of The Repository Lee Sinclair recalled that as a child he loved to visit the Stark Count...

Remembering Dean Larry Hyde

Judge Laurance M. “Larry” Hyde, the dean who established The National Judicial College on the campu...

Interior of cell block in abandoned State Correctional Institution, or jail., common room with jail cells.
Poll suggests that judges know what life is like in their jails and prisons

Judges who send people to jail or prison usually have at least some idea of the conditions in the facilitie...

Judicial Heroes and Legends: May 2022 - Hon. Constance Baker Motley

When Ketanji Brown Jackson was nominated to become the first Black woman justice of the U.S. Supreme Co...

View All News

Download a PDF of our complete 2022 course catalog