2021 Remaining Courses

In need of CJE/CLE before year’s end? The NJC has you covered with a variety of courses offered in person and online, including many free webinars!

Online full courses
In-person courses in Reno, Nevada
Courses across the country
Single-session webinars


Online full courses

Taking the Bench: An Interactive, Online Course for New Administrative Law Judges  Aug. 2 – Sep. 3, 2021  |  Tuition: $299
Taking the Bench: An Interactive, Online Course for New Judges  Aug. 2 – Sep. 3, 2021  |  Tuition: $299
Administrative Law: Fair Hearing (JS 612)  Aug. 15 – 21, 2021  |  Tuition: $1,649
Evidence Challenges for Administrative Law Judges  Sep. 13 – Oct. 29, 2021  |  Tuition: $689
Special Considerations for the Rural Court Judge  Sep. 27 – Nov. 12, 2021  |  Tuition: $689
Ethics for the Administrative Law Judge  Sep. 27 – Nov. 12, 2021  |  Tuition: $689
Judicial Writing (JS 615)  Sep. 27 – 30, 2021  |  Tuition: $1,239
Ethics, Fairness, and Security in Your Courtroom and Community  |  Oct. 4 – 7, 2021  |  Tuition: $1,239  (also available in person)
Advanced Tribal Bench Skills: Competence, Confidence and Control Oct. 11 – 14, 2021  |  Tuition: $1,239  (also available in person)
General Jurisdiction (JS 610)  |  Oct. 18 – 28, 2021  |  Tuition: $1,859  (also available in person)
Taking the Bench: An Interactive, Online Course for New Judges  |  Nov. 8 – Dec. 10, 2021  | Tuition: $299
Advanced Trial Skills for Judges: Managing the Jury Trial Nov. 8 – 10, 2021  |   Tuition: $849  (also available in person)


In-person courses in Reno, Nevada

Designing and Presenting: A Faculty Development Workshop  Aug. 16 – 19, 2021  |  Tuition : $1,239
Ethics, Fairness, and Security in Your Courtroom and Community  Oct. 4 – 7, 2021  |  Tuition: $1,239  (also available online)
Advanced Tribal Bench Skills: Competence, Confidence and Control  Oct. 11 – 14, 2021  |  Tuition: $1,239  (also available online)
General Jurisdiction (JS 610)  Oct. 18 – 28, 2021  |  Tuition: $1,859  (also available online)
Managing Challenging Family Law Cases (JS 634)  Oct. 18 – 21, 2021  |  Tuition: $1,239
Judicial Academy – A Boot Camp for Aspiring Judges  Oct. 25 – 29, 2021  |  Tuition: $1,239
Drugged Driving Essentials  Nov. 2 – 4, 2021  |  Tuition: Call for eligibility 
Advanced Trial Skills for Judges: Managing the Jury Trial   Nov. 8 – 10, 2021  |  Tuition: $849  (also available online)
Civil Mediation Nov. 8 – 12, 2021  |  Tuition: $1,399


Courses across the country

Santa Fe, New Mexico   Drugs in America Today: What Every Judge Needs to Know  Aug. 23 – 25, 2021  |  Tuition: $1,059
Napa, California  Environmental Law Essentials for the Judiciary  Aug. 23 – 25, 2021  |  Tuition: $1,059
Asheville, NC  Fourth Amendment: Comprehensive Search and Seizure (JS 645)  Sep. 27 – 30, 2021  |  $1,549
Duck Key, Florida  Advanced Evidence (JS 617)  Oct. 4 – 7, 2021  |  Tuition: $1,549
New Orleans, Louisiana  Handling Capital Cases (JS 623)  Oct. 4 – 7, 2021  |  Tuition: $1,549 
San Diego, California  Decision Making (JS 618)  Oct. 25 – 28, 2021  |  Tuition: $1,549
Charleston, South Carolina  Enhancing Judicial Bench Skills  Oct. 25 – 28, 2021  |  Tuition: $1,549
Sedona, Arizona  Mindfulness for Judges  Nov. 1 – 4, 2021  |  Tuition: $1,549
Montgomery, Alabama  When Justice Fails: Threats to the Independence of the Judiciary (JS 644)  Dec. 13 – 16, 2021  |  Tuition: $1,549
Santa Fe, New Mexico  Artificial Intelligence: What Judges Need to Know  Dec. 13 – 16, 2021  |  Tuition: $1,549


Single-session webinars

The Problem: Illicit Use of Drugs Must be Addressed in Order to Support Meaningful Change July 15, 2021  |  8 a.m. Hawaii / 10 a.m. Alaska / 11 a.m. Pacific / 12 p.m. Mountain / 1 p.m. Central / 2 p.m. Eastern  |  Duration: 75 minutes  |  Tuition: Free
Courthouse Dogs: Best Practice for Judges July 21, 2021  |  9 a.m. Hawaii / 11 a.m. Alaska / 12 p.m. Pacific / 1 p.m. Mountain / 2 p.m. Central / 3 p.m. Eastern  |  Duration: 75 Minutes
Practical Implications of Substance Use Disorder on Effective Judicial Decision Making July 24, 2021  |  8 a.m. Hawaii / 10 a.m. Alaska / 11 a.m. Pacific / 12 p.m. Mountain / 1 p.m. Central / 2 p.m. Eastern  |  Duration: 75 minutes  |  Tuition: Free
Court Supervision in Impaired Driving Cases July 29, 2021  |  8 a.m. Hawaii / 10 a.m. Alaska / 11 a.m. Pacific / 12 p.m. Mountain / 1 p.m. Central / 2 p.m. Eastern  |  Duration: 75 minutes  |  Tuition: Free
The Neuroscience of Substance Use Disorders and Recovery  Aug. 10, 2021  |  8 a.m. Hawaii / 10 a.m. Alaska / 11 a.m. Pacific / 12 p.m. Mountain / 1 p.m. Central / 2 p.m. Eastern  |  Duration: 75 minutes  |  Tuition: Free
Core Skills for Judges: “Speaking Your Mind (and Your Opinion): Presenting Oral Opinions from the Bench  Aug. 18, 2021  |  7 a.m. Hawaii / 9 a.m. Alaska / 10 a.m. Pacific / 11 a.m. Mountain / 12 p.m. Central / 1 p.m. Eastern  |  Duration: 60 minutes  |  Tuition: $199 (free for judges after scholarship)
Core Skills for Judges: Mindfulness for Judges Aug. 24, 2021  |  9 a.m. Hawaii / 11 a.m. Alaska / 12 p.m. Pacific / 1 p.m. Mountain / 2 p.m. Central / 3 p.m. Eastern  |  Duration: 75 minutes   |  Tuition: $199 (free for judges after scholarship)

Additional webinars will be scheduled through the remainder of the year. 

NJC News
Social justice together as a crowd of diverse people with a law symbol representing community legislation and equal rights or legal lawyer icon with 3D illustration elements.
How often does a judge end up sentencing someone for breaking a law the judge personally disagrees with?

Our September Question of the Month asked judges how often they’ve had to make a ruling in line with a la...

Symbol of law and justice in the empty courtroom, law and justice concept.
Faculty member Chief Judge Karen Arnold-Burger recipient of the Robert L. Gernon Award

Judicial Heroes & Legends: September 2021 - Chief Justices Ralph Gants and Mark Cady

Fairness champions who left us too soon Iowa Chief Justice Mark Cady The parallels between Mark Cady ...

http://www.istockphoto.com/file_thumbview_approve.php?size=1&id=13316132
Welcome to the Bench - August 2021

Congratulations to the following 12 judges who are either new to the bench or have recently been elected, a...

NV Energy Foundation grants $25,000 for Reading & Robes™

RENO, NV (August 17, 2021) – The NV Energy Foundation has awarded The National Judicial College a $25,000...

View All News

Download a PDF of our complete 2021 course catalog

Download